He and She

Have you met someone at a fleeting time and space, you’ve really liked them, you’re not sure if you will see them again or if you will get a chance to get to know them, and take it forward? Read on just the  poem reiterating those feelings, and  that, subtly so.

It’s interesting how not so long ago, I was unable to put into words or even clarify in my own head what I was feeling and that’s when I chanced upon this lovely poem by Christina Rossetti. More so, this wasn’t just the most befitting poem for my situation but also the first poem that opened up when I flipped through my newly picked copy of ‘Christina Rossetti : Selected Poems’. And yet, I refuse to believe in destiny!

He and She
by Christina Rossetti

“Should one of us remember,
And one of us forget,
I wish I knew what each will do–
But who can tell as yet?”

“Should one of us remember,
And one of us forget,
I promise you what I will do–
And I’m content to wait for you,
And not be sure as yet.”

Leave a Reply

